Ulster Regional Winners for the Irish Restaurant Awards 2012

The Ulster Regional Final For The Restaurant Awards 2012 sponsored By Santa Rita / Sunday Independent Life Magazine took Place In The Merchant Hotel, Belfast Tuesday 27th March 2012.

The List of Winners in each of the following categories were:
Best Customer Service
Antrim                          Berts Jazz Bar@ The Merchant Hotel
Armagh                         Pot Belly Restaurant
Cavan                            Mac Nean House & Restaurant
Derry                            City Hotel
Donegal                         Harveys Point Hotel
Down                             Cullodon Hotel
Fermanagh                   Dollakis
Monaghan                    Snaffles Brasserie@ Castle Leslie
Tyrone                         Oysters
Best Gastro Pub Sponsored By Faustino

Antrim                         The Morning Star
Armagh                        Digbys
Cavan                           The Blackhorse Inn
Derry                            Badgers Bar
Donegal                        Harrys Bar
Down                            Currans Bar
Fermanagh                  Customs House
Monaghan                    Andy’s Bar
Tyrone                         The Brewers House

Best Casual Dining Sponsored By Joseph Drouhin
Antrim                         Il Pirata
Armagh                       Zio Restaurant
Cavan                          Pol O D’s
Derry                           Flaming Jacks
Donegal                       The Harbour Restaurant
Down                           Strudle Bistro
Fermanagh                 Dollakis
Monaghan                   Conors Bar At Castle Leslie
Tyrone                        Deli On The Green
Wine Experience – Ulster – Sponsored By Thomas Barton

Harveys Point Co. Donegal
Kids Size Me – Ulster- Sponsored By Heinz

The Old Castle Bar & Red Hugh Restaurant
Best Hotel Restaurant

Antrim                        River Room Restaurant At Galgorm Resort & Spa
Armagh                      Newforge Country House
Cavan                         Setanta Restaurant At The Slieve Russell
Derry                         Ardmore Restaurant At Beech Hill Country House
Donegal                      The Weeping Elm Restaurant At Rathmullan House
Down                          Portaferry Hotel
Fermanagh                The Catalina Restaurant At Lough Erne Resort
Monaghan                  The Restaurant At Nuremore Hotel
Tyrone                       The Kitchen Restaurant At Lylagan Country House
Best Chef Sponsored By Tipperary Water

Antrim                        Damian Tumilty, Cafe Vaudeville
Armagh                      Dean Coppard, Uluru
Cavan                         Gearoid Lynch, The Olde Post Inn
Derry                          Ian Orr, Browns Restaurant & Champagne Lounge
Donegal                      Kelan Mc Michael, The Weeping Elm At Rathmullan House
Down                          Joery Castel, The Boat House
Fermanagh                Noel McMeel, Lough Erne Resort
Monaghan                  Andrew Bradley, Snaffles Restaurant At Castle Leslie
Tyrone                       Hayden Gamble, Vanilla
Best Restaurant Sponsored By Santa Rita
Antrim                        James St South
Armagh                      Uluru
Cavan                          Mc Nean House & Restaurant
Derry                          Browns Restaurant & Champagne Lounge
Donegal                      The Mill Restaurant
Down                          The Boathouse
Fermanagh                Watermill Restaurant
Monaghan                  Snaffles Restaurant At Castle Leslie
Tyrone                       Vanilla

All County winners will now compete for the Regional and All Ireland Title which will be announced at the Irish Restaurant Awards in the Burlington Hotel Dublin on Wednesday 14th May 2012 2. http://www.irishrestaurantawards.com
There are 3 components to phase two  of the process. Each element is independently assessed by KPMG.

1. Mystery Guest Visit (35%) This component of the awards is conducted by Prism Consulting headed by Hugo Arnold, independent food writer and consultant. (http://www.hugoarnold.com). All County Winners receive a mystery guest visit throughout the month of April.

2. National Awards Academy (55%) Our National Awards Academy is made up representatives from each of the regional judging panels and will meet in May to Judge the County Winners.

3. Menu Judging (10%) All County winners and the Dublin Shortlist in each category are asked to submit a copy of their food menu and wine list for judging.
For Further Details Please Contact:
Adrian Cummins, Chief Executive, www.RAI.ie – 086 8263311.

About IrishFoodGuide.ie - Zack Gallagher

Chef. Zack Gallagher. @IrishFoodGuide on Twitter. News about Food, Food Producers, Chefs and Irish Food Tourism, in Ireland. Food and Food Tourism Marketing at @IrishFoodTour. Irish Food Blogger and Journalist. Food Ambassador at @Failte_Ireland. Judge @BlasNahEireann Irish Food Awards #WildAtlanticWay
This entry was posted in #rai12, awards, food, irish, news, rai.ie, restaurant association, Ulster. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.